Skip to content

A Hundred Ways to Get There, Part 1

May 20, 2011

Last week, I was asked to be a guest artist for the 3rd graders at my son’s elementary school. I’ve done a lot of school visits over the years. Usually I read my children’s books and talk to the students about writing and illustrating, but this time I wanted to do something different: I wanted the students to actively help me illustrate a picture book.

This video shows the development of one of the illustrations from beginning to end:

We had SO MUCH FUN! We had thirty minutes of crazy chaos with scores of brushes moving and black acrylic paint moving across a dozen panels. Oh, it made me want to be a third grader!

A hundred third graders helping me with this picture book.

Come back for more posts on this project. I need to show you the great fonts these students created for the book. I need to show you more transformations of these great illustrations, and I want to tell you what this book is about. Come back soon!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 10:51 am

    Kirk – what a fun and delightfully creative idea! You’re living the life…

  2. May 20, 2011 11:03 am

    You are amazing. The creative genius lives in you. Fun fun fun.

  3. May 20, 2011 11:12 am

    What a cool idea!

  4. May 20, 2011 11:39 am

    This is stupendous. I can’t wait to see this book.

  5. May 20, 2011 12:36 pm

    This is so fun! I love the video documenting the process- it really brings it to life. I’ll definitely be looking forward to seeing more.

  6. May 20, 2011 2:50 pm

    Kirk!!!!! you are awesome! what an amazing experience for those kids to be a part of! Love it, love it, love it!!! … could i sound more excited!!! a few more exclamations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. May 24, 2011 10:14 am

    Fun stuff man! I love the collaborative nature of this. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

